Jrips.Wordpress.com

Icon

Posts by John Gills

Top 5 Songs of 2008

200px-santogold3

5.  Santogold – LES Aristes

It’s cool, it’s chill.  Love the lyrics:

What am I here for
I left my home to disappear is all
I’m here for myself
Not to know you
I don’t need no one else
Fit in so good the hope is that you cannot see me later
You don’t know me
I am an introvert an excavator
I’m duckin’ out for now
a face in dodgy elevators
Creep up and suddenly
I found myself
an innovator

love_lockdown

4. Kanye West – Love Lockdown

Lockdown is popular with everyone from 8 to 80 and has topped the charts, but it is an undeniable gem in a wasteland of crappy pop hits.  The tribal beat on Kanye’s cracking over produced voice captures an emotion that I’ve been feeling all year.

blitzen4-thumb

3. Blitzen Trapper – Black River Killer

A smooth Johnny Cash tale of naive forgiveness and uncontrollable evil over a hypnotic acoustic guitar melody.   The hip hop sine wave that follows each chorus sounds like a alt-country tune written by Warren G.

200px-atmospherelemonsa

2. Atmosphere – You

This is the get up and live track.   Classic Atmosphere.   White boy angst.  Tales of white girl drama.  The whole album is a bombshell.

dd_web

1. The Duke and The Duchess – Reservoir Park

The track would have fit nicely into the Young Guns soundtrack, the movie retelling of the exploits of Billy The Kid.  The Duke and The Duchess have found the sound.   You’ll mistake it for a Rolling Stones song you never heard.   A cold expression of fatalism over an acoustic guitar.

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

